Minutes of the departmental meeting held on 17.5.2024

A departmental meeting was convened on 17th May, 2024 at the staff room at 12 noon. It was attended by all the faculty members and was chaired by the Head of the Department, Dr Sudeshna Mitra.

In the meeting the dates for the Tutorial and Internal Assessment of Semester VI and Semester IV were discussed. Since the IA examination was to be centrally arranged by the college administration with dates given by them only the tutorial dates were discussed and fixed in the meeting. The tutorial dates for all the four papers of ECOA (Honours) students were fixed on 10th and 11th June, 2024 and that for ECOG (General) students was fixed on 7th June, 2024.

The Tutorial examination for Semester IV students was fixed on 14th June,2024 and question papers for the IA Examinations were to be submitted within 23rd May, 2024. It was further decided that all question papers for IA were to be uploaded on Google Drive.

The Students' Seminar which is centrally organised by the college every year is an annual programme conducted by each Honours department and the date for the seminar for Economics was fixed for 28th May, 2024 (Tuesday) after discussing the matter with all the faculty members. The topic for the seminar was suggested by Dr Indrani Banerjee to be on 'Financial Operations and Indian Perspective'. Dr Jaya Mukherjee would make the Flyer of the seminar.

There was a proposal from the Head of the Department, Dr Sudeshna Mitra, that the Department of Economics would like to collaborate with either Surendranath college for Women or Women's Christian College with whom the college has a MOU, to organise a joint programme on 'Advanced Excel programming' which is a part of 4 - year CCF Syllabus. The proposal was accepted by all the other faculty members and she was asked to proceed officially with talks with the higher authority of the college.

Dr Sudeshna Mitra also announced that the Departmental Journal named 'Econograph' was ready for circulation among all. She was heartily congratulated by the faculty members.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.